Multiple Teams · Wyatt Wyman Wins XC Sectional, Boys Sectional Runner-Ups and Girls 4th

The boys cross county team ran another solid race and placed 2nd at the Brown County Sectional. The only team to beat the BC team was Columbus North. Once again, the Eagles were paced by Wyatt Wyman. Wyatt was a little nervous before the race since most of the cross country running websites picked him to win the race. He ran in the top five for most of the race and after the third K moved slowly away from the Columbus North runners to secure the win. Joining Wyatt in the top five was Jackson McPheeters with a new personal best.

The boys’ team moves on to the Brown County Regional meet for the nineteenth time since 1994. The Southwestern Hanover Sectional will join the five teams that advanced form the Brown County Sectional. The top teams look to be Jennings County, Columbus North, Austin, Seymour and Brown County.

The girls’ team placed fourth in the Brown County Sectional and advanced to the thirteenth Regional since 1998. The lady Eagles placed three runners in the top nineteen in the race. Eme Koester had a great run today with her fourth place finish. Eme was running by herself at the two K and by the third K she made up the gap and was running in the lead group. Anna Fleetwood and Emma DeBord placed eleventh and nineteenth. Anna was the second non-Columbus North or Seymour runner in the top eleven. Emma’s goal time was 21:50 for the meet and she run a 21:48. She went out smart in the race and ran past many runners who well out too hard.

The girls’ team will have to make some improvements for the next race in order to run at the Brown County Semi-State.¬†Southwestern Hanover Sectional will join the five teams that advanced from the Brown County Sectional. The top teams will be Columbus North, Seymour and Jennings County. The teams that will be fighting for the last two spots will be Columbus East, Charlestown and Brown County.

Next Meet: October 14, 2017 Brown County Regional, Eagle Park

Boys 10:30 a.m. and Girls 11:15 a.m.